Friday, May 17, 2019

Nevada Minimum Wage

As of 2019, the Nevada minimum wage for employers and employees in Reno, Carson City, other parts of Northern Nevada, and all other locations around the state, is $8.25 per hour; however, if the employer provides health insurance coverage, then the minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.

Tipped employees must be paid these minimums with no reductions in pay by the employer for tips employees receive from customers.

A bill that, if passed, would raise Nevada's minimum wage, at the rate of 75 cents per year, to $12 per hour for employees with health insurance and $11 for those without, and was part of Nevada Democrats' 2018 campaign promises, is pending in the state legislature.

Most Nevada employees must be paid overtime at 1.5 times their base rate for hours worked over 40 hours in a week or 8 hours in a day, but exceptions apply to certain occupations. Working on a holiday does not require overtime pay.